Choose Language Top Menu Main Menu Extra Button Menu Page Contents Footer Search

Great Moment Education - Heracleion and Lasithi

On Monday, 17 October 2005, the best students of the Heracleion and Lasithi region received their awards from EFG Eurobank during a special ceremony at the Theatre Station.  This ceremony was the fourteenth in a series of 30 events organized by EFG Eurobank in the various Greek regions, as part of its “The great moment for Education” sponsorship programme.

The sponsorship programme, “The great moment for Education”, which was launched by EFG Eurobank in 2003, represents a major educational initiative that further enhances the group’s already strong sponsoring activity in the field of Education, in addition to the fields of Culture, Environment and Sports.

The main aim of this programme is to support and reward school students in their “struggle” for knowledge. Eurobank wishes in this way to make a valuable contribution to the community in which it operates by helping the young generation achieve its high objectives.


The sponsorship programme, “The great moment for Education” is supported by the Ministry of Education and it concerns over 230,000 pupils graduating from senior high school throughout Greece.  In the context of the programme, EFG Eurobank rewards each year the pupil who achieved the highest marks for admission to tertiary education.  The programme includes all 1,300 high schools in Greece, public and private, daily or evening.  The award is accompanied by the amount of  € 1,000, which is deposited in a savings account at an EFG Eurobank’s branch in the relevant city.

The following dignitaries honoured the event with their presence: Heracleion MPs Vasilis Kegeroglou, Emmanuel Stratakis, Lasithi MP Ioannis Plakiotakis, Heracleion Deputy Regional Governors Sifis Angelidakis and Michael Papagiannakis, the President of the Heracleion Municipal Council Marcos Karanastasis, Heracleion City Councillor Nicolaos Gyzis, together with many local government officials. Were also present the Regional Primary and Secondary Education Director for Crete Arcadios Spanoudaksi, the Secondary Education Director for Lasithi Georgios Vasilakis, the Head of the Heracleion Secondary Education Department Emmanuel Iatrakis and other representatives of primary and secondary education, as well as members of Crete’s economic and social life. The Archbishop of Heracleion was represented at the event by the Reverend Father Ioannis Stratakis, Professor of Theology.

Father Ioannis Stratakis, in his short address, on behalf of the Archbishop of Heracleion congratulated the children, their parents and their teachers.

Lasithi MP Ioannis Plakiotakis, the second speaker, commended EFG Eurobank for its ongoing support to Education, the most valuable of all resources.

Heracleion MP Vasilis Kegeroglou noted that learning is the best investment for young people and congratulated the Bank for implementing such an important programme, placing the state before its own major responsibility.

In his short address Heracleion MP Emmanuel Stratakis pointed out that EFG Eurobank’s programme is an example to be followed and for the children a spring-board to further achievements.

The Deputy Regional Governor of Heracleion Sifis Angelidakis conveyed the Regional Governor’s D. Sarris congratulations to the students stressing the Bank’s contribution to the region’s progress and prosperity through its sponsorship programme in the field of Culture that enhances quality of life.

In his address Marcos Karanastasis, the President of the Heracleion Municipal Council conveyed the Mayor’ s, G. Kourakis, congratulations to the pupils, their parents and teachers and noted that this programme is an investment in the future and promotes emulation among the pupils.

Arcadios Spanoudakis, Head of the Crete Secondary Education Educational and Scientific Guidance compared EFG Eurobank’s sponsorship to the “choregia” of the archons in ancient Athens emphasizing that this programme rewards intellectual performance thus contributing to the country’s development.

Finally, in his short speech, Georgios Zisis, EFG Eurobank Deputy Regional Manager, stressed that “our Bank is implementing its sponsorship programme “The great moment for Education ”, which is now in its third successful year. Responding to the challenges of the new era it has chosen to encourage our youth to focus on learning and progress by introducing a new institution. At a time when many of the traditional values, which underpinned the development of our societies are being questioned, we must recognize and reward the best, those who work hardest and who invest actively in learning and culture. He then went on to say, “The great moment for Education” programme is part of EFG Eurobank Group’s broader social contribution, which includes major sponsorship programmes in the fields of Culture, Sport and Education”.

The recipients of the EGF Eurobank awards for the Heracleion and Lasithi region are:

  1. Christos Angelidakis, Krousonas Comprehensive School
  2. Styliani Alifieraki, Heracleion 7th Comprehensive School
  3. Elpiniki Varouhaki, Heracleion 2nd Comprehensive School
  4. Mina-Dimitra Vasilakaki, Heracleion 11th Comprehensive School
  5. Ioannis Galanakis, Kastelli Comprehensive School
  6. Astrinos Damianakis, Heracleion 4th Comprehensive School
  7. Maria Darivianaki, Agion Deka Comprehensive School 
  8. Heleni Dermitzaki, Tzermiades Comprehensive School
  9. Antonios Doulgerakis, Moires Comprehensive School
  10. Dimitrios Theodorakis, “Pancretion” Comprehensive School
  11. Antonios Kalogiannakis, Heracleion 5th Comprehensive School
  12. Ioannis-Aristidis Kapetanakis,Archanes Comprehensive School
  13. Eleftherios Karapidakis, Ierapetra 2nd Comprehensive School
  14. Emmanuel Kastigakis, Gouves Comprehensive School
  15. Michael Kozyris, Agios Nicolaos Comprehensive School
  16. Evangelia Kotzanaki, Asimion Comprehensive School
  17. Evangelia Lambraki, Heracleion Experimental Comprehensive School
  18. Vasiliki Lasithiotaki, Malia Comprehensive School
  19. Ioanis Lykakis, Heracleion 1st Comprehensive School
  20. Athanasia Manousaki, Alikarnassos Comprehensive School
  21. Zaharenia Mavrogianni, Heracleion 6th Comprehensive School
  22. Barbara Messanaki, Arkalohori Comprehensive School
  23. Maria Boukoura, Ierapetra 1st Comprehensive School
  24. Ioannis Petromichelakis, Heracleion 3d Comprehensive School
  25. Sousma-Selene Rouckstoul, Pompia Comprehensive School
  26. Maria Sarri, Gazi Comprehensive School
  27. Nicolaos Sarris, Neapoli Comprehensive School
  28. Calliope Selinotaki, Agia Varvara Comprehensive School
  29. Georgios Sfakianakis, Haraka Comprehensive School
  30. Vasiliki Tzifa, Setia Comprehensive School
  31. Kyriaki Halepaki-Delli, Melesa Comprehensive School
  32. Heleni Christodoulaki, Heracleion 13th Comprehensive School
  33. Michael Psaradakis, Heracleion 8th Comprehensive School
  34. Efstratios Psomadakis, Tymbaki Comprehensive School