Choose Language Top Menu Main Menu Extra Button Menu Page Contents Footer Search

EFG Eurobank Invests in Education - Sparti

On Wednesday, 4 October 2006 the best students of the Laconia region received their awards from Eurobank EFG during a special ceremony at the Sparta Inn Hotel in Sparti: this was the 9th in a series of 32 events organized by the Bank in the Greek prefectures as part of its “The Great Moment for Education” sponsorship programme.

The sponsorship programme, "The Great Moment for Education”, which was launched by Eurobank EFG in 2003, is implemented with the support of the Ministry of Education and is one of the most important sponsorship initiatives of the Eurobank EFG Group that has chosen to be actively involved within the community by lending its support to the fields of Education, Culture, Environment and Sports. Through this programme, awards have been given until today to 4,000 students in Greece who have obtained the highest marks and who are the most vibrant message of progress for our society.

The main aim of the “The Great Moment for Education” programme is to reward young people's efforts in their pursuit of knowledge and to recognize those who have achieved excellence and who represent a prospect and guarantee for the future.

Eurobank EFG wishes by means of these symbolic awards to promote the timeless significance of the values that inspire and guide young people as they strive for a worthy future marked by creativity and innovative thinking.

In the context of the programme, which concerns over 230,000 pupils graduating from senior high school throughout Greece, Eurobank EFG rewards each year the pupi1s who achieved the highest marks for admission to tertiary education in each of the 1,300 high schools in Greece, public and private, daily or evening.

The award is accompanied by the amount of € 1,000, which is deposited in a savings account at a Eurobank EFG branch in the relevant city.

The following dignitaries honoured the event with their presence: the representative of the Metropolitan of Sparta Efstathios, the Mayor of Sparta Sarantos Antonakos, the President of the Sparta Municipal Council Christos Patsilivas, Laconia Regional Councilors Dimitris Lazris and Ms. Stamatiki Atsiadakou Belegri, Sparta City Councilor Stavors Kanellakis, the Laconia Secondary Education Director Nicolaos 

Chiotis and other representatives of primary and secondary education, as well as members of the region’s economic and social life.

In his short address the representative of the Metropolitan of Sparta Efstathios commended Eurobank EFG for its support to young students to whom he wished further success in their studies so that they may become prominent members of society. He also congratulated the students’ parents and teachers for their contribution to the young people’s achievement.

The Mayor of Sparta Sarantos Antonakos who took the floor next stressed, among other things, that Eurobank EFG should be congratulated for its initiative to reward the best pupils to whom he wished all the best for the future.

Ms. Stamatiki Atsidakou –Belegri, Laconia Regional Councilor, who represented the Regional Governor, in her short address commended the parents for the worthy children they had raised, the students for their achievement and Eurobank EFG for its initiative.

In his turn, the Laconia Secondary Education Director, Nicolaos Chiotis commended Eurobank EFG for organizing this awards ceremony in praise of the best students in the Laconia region and congratulated the young people for their efforts and success.

The recipients of the Eurobank awards for the region of Laconia are:

1.      Margarita Argiodima, Gythion Comprehensive School

2.      Dimitrios Volakos, Sparta 2nd Comprehensive School

3.      Evangelia Kyriakakou, Xerokambio Comprehensive School

4.      Nicolaos Maniatis, Sparta 3d Comprehensive School

5.      Heleni – Katerina Mouroutsou, Sparta 1st Comprehensive School

6.      Panagiotis Pantazopoulos, Kastoreio Comprehensive School

7.      Evangelia Aliferi, Neapolis Comprehensive School

8.      Myrto Antonopoulou, Skala Comprehensive School

9.      Stavroula Gatea, Areopolis Comprehensive School

10.  Maria Grigorea, Monemvasia Comprehensive School

11.  Stylianos Dimitropoulos, Elous Comprehensive School

12.  Argyroula Mourtzikou, Gerakion Comprehensive School

13.  Kyriakos Housakos, Molaoi Comprehensive School.