Choose Language Top Menu Main Menu Extra Button Menu Page Contents Footer Search

Great Moment Education - Karditsa


On Friday, 5 November 2005, the 16 best students of the prefecture of Karditsa received their awards from EFG Eurobank during a special ceremony at the KIERION Hotel in Karditsa.  This ceremony was the 21st in a series of 30 events organized by the Bank in the various Greek regions, as part of its “The great moment for Education” sponsorship programme.

The sponsorship programme, “The great moment for Education”, which was launched by EFG Eurobank in 2003, represents a major educational initiative that further enhances the Group’s already strong sponsoring activity in the field of Education, in addition to the fields of Culture, Environment and Sports.

The sponsorship programme, “The great moment for Education” is supported by the Ministry of Education and it concerns over 230,000 pupils graduating from senior high school throughout Greece.  In the context of the programme, EFG Eurobank rewards each year the pupils who achieved the highest marks for admission to tertiary education.  The programme includes all 1,300 high schools in Greece, public and private, daily or evening.  The award is accompanied by the amount of  € 1,000, which is deposited in a savings account at an EFG Eurobank branch in the relevant city.

The following dignitaries honoured the event with their presence: the Metropolitan of Thessaliotida and Fanariofarsala Kyrillos, Deputy Regional Governors of Karditsa Constantinos Trypas-Pliakos and Ms.  Thomae Kafasi-Dediliari, the Deputy Mayor of Karditsa Evangelos Lemas, the Mayor of Acheloos Dimitiris Papacostas, Karditsa Municipal Councillors Ms. Niki Bourazani and Vasilios Kontaxis, the 2nd Director of the Karditsa Police Georgios Kombogiannis, the Head of the Karditsa Local Government and Administration Directorate Nicolaos Laiopoulos and other representatives of primary and secondary education, as well as members of the region’s economic and social life.

In his address Metropolitan Kyrillos congratulated EFG Eurobank for its outstanding initiative, stressing that it is indeed an organization that in addition to its economic performance is also very sensitive to the needs of young people.


The Deputy Regional Governor of Karditsa, Constantinos Trypas-Pliakos expressed his satisfaction for the opportunity to be present at the ceremony and congratulated EFG Eurobank for its contribution and the students for their brilliant success.

Finally, in his speech, Georgios Papageorgiou,Regional Manager of EFG Eurobank’s Network, stressed that “our Bank is implementing its sponsorship programme “The great moment for Education ”, which is now in its third successful year. Responding to the challenges of the new era it has chosen to encourage our youth to focus on learning and progress by introducing a new institution. At a time when many of the traditional values, which underpinned the development of our societies are being questioned, we must recognize and reward the best, those who work hardest and who invest actively in learning and culture”.  He then went on to say, “The great moment for Education” programme is part of EFG Eurobank Group’s broader social contribution, which includes major sponsorship programmes in the fields of Culture, Sport and Education”.

The recipients of the EGF Eurobank awards in Karditsa are:

  1. Evangelia Akrivou, Karditsa 4th Comprehensive School
  2. Vasiliki Vaitsi, Proastio Comprehensive School
  3. Eleftheria Vasiliou, Senior Classes, Mataranga Junior High School 
  4. Angeliki Dragoutsou, Mouzaki Comprehensive School
  5. Eirini Karanisa, Karditsa 5th Comprehensive School
  6. Virginia Katsanou, Senior Classes, Metropolis Junior High School
  7. Athanasia Masoura, Karditsa Music School 
  8. Stavroula Melliou, Karditsa College
  9. Maria Notopoulou, Senior Classes, Itea Junior High School
  10. Ismene Panagou, Lekka Private School
  11. Apostolos Papapostolou, Karditsa 2ndComprehensive School
  12. Iphigenia Petropoulou, Palama Comprehensive School
  13. Nicolina Skandali, Karditsa 1stComprehensive School
  14. Efrosyni Stafyli, Leontari Comprehensive School
  15. Ioanna Stergiou, Karditsa 3d Comprehensive School
  16. Georgios Tagoulis, Sofades Comprehensive School.