Choose Language Top Menu Main Menu Extra Button Menu Page Contents Footer Search

Great Moment Education - Euboea


On Monday, 25 October 2005, the best students of the region of Euboea received their awards from EFG Eurobank during a special ceremony at the Paliria Hotel.  This ceremony was the 17th in a series of 30 events organized by EFG Eurobank in the various Greek regions, as part of its “The great moment for Education” sponsorship programme.

The sponsorship programme, “The great moment for Education”, which was launched by EFG Eurobank in 2003, represents a major educational initiative that further enhances the group’s already strong sponsoring activity in the field of Education, in addition to the fields of Culture, Environment and Sports.

The main aim of this programme is to support and reward school students in their “struggle” for knowledge. EFG Eurobank wishes in this way to make a valuable contribution to the community in which it operates by helping the young generation achieve its high objectives.


The sponsorship programme, “The great moment for Education” is supported by the Ministry of Education and it concerns over 230,000 pupils graduating from senior high school throughout Greece. In the context of the programme, EFG Eurobank rewards each year the pupils who achieved the highest marks for admission to tertiary education.  The programme includes all 1,300 high schools in Greece, public and private, daily or evening.  The award is accompanied by the amount of  € 1,000, which is deposited in a savings account at an EFG Eurobank branch in the relevant city.

The following dignitaries honoured the event with their presence: Reverend Nikiforos on behalf of Metropolitan Chrysostomos, Euboea MP Georgios Papageorgiou, Deputy Regional Governor Georgios Roumeliotis, on behalf of the Regional Governor of Euboea Athanasios Bouradas, Regional Councillors Stavros Kamariotis and Georgios Spyrou, on behalf of the Mayor of Halkida Dimitrios Anagnostakis, the President of the Municipal Council Stavros Petrakis, Halkida Municipal Councillors Christos Georgoulis and Grigoris Daskos, the President of the Euboea Economic Chamber Constantinos Roussopoulos, together with many local government officials. Were also present the Secondary Education Director for Euboea Emmanuel Keramaris, on behalf of the Ministry of Education and other representatives of primary and secondary education, as well as members of the region’s economic and social life. 

In his message, the Under-Secretary for Tourism, Anastasios Liaskos, congratulated the Bank for its outstanding initiative and support to last year’s best senior high school graduates.

Euboea MP Georgios Papageorgioutook the floor first and warmly congratulated EFG Eurobank for rewarding the pupils’ efforts and its sensitivity to corporate responsibility issues.

Deputy Regional Governor of Euboea Georgios Roumeliotis took the floor next and after extending his congratulations to EFG Eurobank for its commitment wished the pupils every success for the future.

The President of the Halkida Municipal Council Stavros Petrakis noted that the Bank’s primary aim, through this initiative, is to reward the students for their hard efforts and achievement.

The Secondary Education Director for Euboea Emmanuel Keramaris underlined the significance of the “Great Moment for Education” programme and congratulated EFG Eurobank for its sponsoring initiative.

Finally, the Regional Manager of EFG Eurobank’s Branch Network, Kyriakos Kyriakopoulos, stressed that, “through its sponsorship program “The great moment for Education ”, which is now in its third successful year, the Bank’s primary aim is to reward the best students and recognize the efforts of young people fighting for their visions with education as their weapon”.-

The recipients of the EGF Eurobank awards for the island of Euboea are:

  1. Sophia Albani, Halkida 3d ComprehensiveSchool
  2. Antonios Apostolou, Avlonari Comprehensive School
  3. Vasiliki Ganosi, Halkida 2nd Comprehensive School
  4. Andreas Giatis, Eretria Comprehensive School
  5. Sotiria Gourni, Limni Comprehensive School
  6. Chrysoula Drosatou, Vasiliko Comprehensive School
  7. Constantinos Zangas, Edipsos Comprehensive School
  8. Evangelia Kiosidou, Kymi Comprehensive School 
  9. Anestis Kyriakos, Senior Classes, Gouva Junior igh High School
  10. Aliki Mandilara, Skyros Comprehensive School
  11. Georgios Minas, Halkida 1st Comprehensive School
  12. Styliani Milili, Karystos Comprehensive School
  13. Georgios-Christos Betsas, Amarynthos Comprehensive School
  14. Ioannis Nicolaou, IstieaComprehensive School
  15. Stamatina Pilichou, Aliveri 1st Comprehensive School
  16. Evangelia Prosgoliti, Mantoudi Comprehensive School
  17. Vasiliki Rapti, Aliveri 2nd Comprehensive School
  18. Georgia Sarma, Kanithos Comprehensive School
  19. Georgios Spanos, Senior Classes, Aghia Anna Junior High School
  20. Evangelos Tolis, Psachna Comprehensive School
  21. Maria-Efstathia Tsiourva, Vathy Avlida Comprehensive School
  22. Asterios Chasapis, Nea Artaki Comprehensive School.